top of page

Emily Stradling Speaks About Mercer University Commitment


Emily Stradling Great Britain Number 8 Blue

Fresh off a strong showing for Great Britain Under 18 Women at the European Championships Division B in Dublin, Ireland, the first order of business for guard Emily Stradling (Class of 2018) was to announce that she had verbally committed to play and study at Mercer University in Macon, Georgia. Playing Division I NCAA basketball is a dream that many players around the world hold, and a select few British youngsters get to realise it. Emily speaks exclusively to Who's That Girl about why she chose Mercer, and about the recruitment process.

Mercer University Bears

"Verbally committing to Mercer University to study and play basketball next year is the final destination of a rollercoaster ride that is the US college recruiting process. Mercer is my dream place to study and play ball for the next 4 years and, coincidentally, they were the first of over 30 universities to express interest in me. Head coach Susie Gardner and Assistant coach Tiffany Morton have been open and honest since we first made contact. They wanted a guard who could 'shoot the ball' and who was a 'threat' but they also wanted to get to know me as a person. So after many Skype calls and messages back and forth we finally set up an official visit this summer. I had the honour of meeting them and the rest of the coaching team and some of my future teammates in person. The visit culminated in Coach Gardner offering me a scholarship to study and play ball for Mercer next year! Playing college basketball is the next stage in my basketball career. Playing for GB this summer and in the WBBL last season made me realise that this is what I want to do, and to be the very best I can be I have to take this fantastic opportunity. Along the way I've been inspired by my role models: club coach and GB captain Stef Collins and Judit Fritz, but Archers assistant last season Ieuan Alex Jones really took me under his wing and made me believe in myself, and for that I'm extremely grateful. For now, I'm more determined than ever to push hard with my beloved Archers in what will be my last WBBL season for a while. I can't wait to get started!"

Who's That Girl Basketball would like to congratulate Emily and wish her the best of luck for her basketball career ahead, and we look forward to tracking her in the WBBL this season, and following her exploits in the United States in years to come. Also, massive credit to Coach Stef Collins and the Cardiff Met Archers programme for the work they have done in developing a fine player.

Follow Emily on Twitter (@emilystradling7) & Instagram (@emstrads07). See her Player Spotlight here, and watch her highlight videos below.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Who's That Girl | Facebook
  • Who's That Girl | Twitter
  • Who's That Girl | Instagram
  • Who's That Girl | Twitter
  • Who's That Girl | Facebook
  • Who's That Girl | Instagram
  • Who's That Girl | Snapchat
bottom of page