top of page

Q & A WITH CHANTELLE HANDY

With the 2017/18 WBBL season tipping off tomorrow, Who's That Girl caught up with one of the biggest signings of this - or any other - off-season, Team Northumbria's Chantelle Handy (@chan2211). Ahead of her debut, the former Olympian took the time to speak exclusively to us about why she's returned to the U.K., her experiences abroad, international ambitions, and the future of the WBBL. Here is what she had to say:

WHO'S THAT GIRL: As an experienced player, including the women’s EuroCup last season, you certainly have a pedigree that would interest teams across the continent. What was it that convinced you to return to the U.K., and what made Northumbria the landing spot for you?

CHANTELLE HANDY: Well, we have the Commonwealth Games this year and I knew if i went to play in Europe, I probably wouldn't be able to compete in that tournament in April. I looked into going to play but nothing came up that interested me enough to go and miss a chance to play in the Commonwealths. Northumbria is my home and if I ever was to stay in the U.K., I always said Northumbria would be where I wanted to go. Close to home, my family will be at every home game cheering us on.

WTG: You’ve played and lived in a few countries as your career progressed. What lessons have you learnt on & off the court during your time overseas?

CH: I have loved experiencing the different cultures and meeting people that have the same love for the game as I do. I have made some great friends from all over the globe from doing what I love to do everyday. I have learnt a lot along my journey on and off the court; both good and bad, but it's been things that have made me grow as a player and a person.

WTG: You’ve continued to pull on the GB vest after the Olympic journey ended. What has it been like representing your country over the last five years?

CH: It's an honour to represent my country. It's hard to explain, but no matter how many times I pull that GB vest on, I get the same feeling as I did when I wore it for the very first time. I've played with these girls for years and plan on doing so till I decide to hang the boots up for good.

WTG: With the Commonwealth Games coming up, what would it mean to you to be on the plane heading to Melbourne?

CH: It would mean everything! It's one of the main reasons I have decided to stay in the U.K. this season. The chance to play in the Commonwealth Games doesn't come around a lot, so this is probably one of the biggest tournaments I have left to play in before the end of my career. So to say I'm excited to have the chance to be on that plane would be an understatement.

WTG: Returning to the domestic game, what what would count as success in your eyes for the WBBL in 5 years time?

CH: The league has improved a lot over the past few years, and I hope after this year, and the Commonwealths bringing in some attention, I hope it continues to grow. We have a lot of players coming to play in the WBBL, and this is great for the league and it will only get better with better players coming in and showing what the league could be. I'm excited for what this season holds - not just for my team but for the league in general.

*Team Northumbria begin their season on Saturday, 14:00 at SportCentral. Make sure to go and catch the game if you are in the area, and see Chantelle Handy in WBBL action for the first time.

With teams up and down the league making moves to strengthen their rosters, and players having the extra motivation of putting themselves in the shop window for the Commonwealth Games in Melbourne, this is shaping up to be the most exciting season yet in the WBBL. Who's That Girl will be keeping you updated throughout the season, and bringing you content regularly, so make sure to look out for our outlets.

Watch as Chantelle Handy catches fire against Italy in a Eurobasket qualifier at the Amaechi Basketball Centre in Manchester.

SLXLM

Video courtesy of Hoopsfix Women

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Who's That Girl | Facebook
  • Who's That Girl | Twitter
  • Who's That Girl | Instagram
  • Who's That Girl | Twitter
  • Who's That Girl | Facebook
  • Who's That Girl | Instagram
  • Who's That Girl | Snapchat
bottom of page